Blog Archive

Monday, May 13, 2013

The Elk/Beaver Ultras 2013

Click HERE for the Audio of this years race.

Hosted by Prairie Inn Harriers Running Club ­ Victoria, BC, Canada ­ May 11, 2013
Race Report
Firstly, thanks to our sponsor Phil Nicholls at Island Runner for providing us with apparel for all athletes and
volunteers at the Elk/Beaver Ultras. We also were able to host our two race package pickups at his store in the
Fairfield Plaza.
Over the years our event has become a classic season opener for any Canadian ultramarathon runner. Not only is
the Lakeshore Trail course beautiful, but it is also flat leading to fast race times. This year runners travelled from
as far afield as Texas and New Brunswick. A sizable contingent of our runners came from Alberta to participate.
We also had a great turnout of local talent from Vancouver Island and the Greater Vancouver area.
The Elk/Beaver Ultras was the official venue for the 100 Kilometre National Trail Ultramarathon Championships as
designated by the Association of Canadian Ultramarathoners. This fact brought out a larger than normal field of
ultra­distance runners, particularly in the 100K Division. Dave Proctor won the National Championship event with a
solid 100K victory in 7:51:12 beating Oleg Tabelev, the masters’ winner, by a comfortable margin of 30 minutes;
Tabelev’s time was 8:21:05. The two leaders were never more than a minute or so apart for the first half of the
race. Bonny Reszel, returning from last year’s 100K where she ran 11:13:38, turned in a personal best
performance today with a respectable 10:59:05 to win the Female National Championship title. The 100K Division
had 17 starters and 14 finishers.
Of all five distance events, probably the most impressive victory was that of Lise Wessels, a 2:53:56 Marathoner.
Running in her first ultra, she completely dominated the event from start to finish, winning the 50K Division outright
with a time of 3:55:41. She and Dave Proctor were neck and neck for their first 4 laps. The Cull brothers were the
first male finishers in the 50K Division recording times of 4:04:57 for David and 4:12:59 for Harold. As usual the
50K was our most popular distance with 27 starters and 24 finishers.
The male and female winners of the 50 Mile Division were Steven Johns in 8:19:46 and Laura Heaney in 9:24:12
and the First­Time Marathon winner was Gord Chilton in 3:59:37. There were no entries in the 40K Walking
Division this year. In all divisions there were a total of 68 runners registered, 53 started and 45 finished the race.
All 45 finishers received a finisher's medal and the top five open and masters’ men and women were awarded
ribbons and plaques. Special thanks goes out to my great volunteers whose stalwart efforts permitted me, as
Race Director, to run the 50K race in 5:05:35 and place 9th of 24 finishers. Running in the 50K event was the
easiest thing that I had to do this week.
My son, “C2”, and my wife, Norma, both played huge roles throughout the day with live computer timing results
every lap and overseeing the food and refreshments. Thanks has to go out to our other key volunteers, with the
addition of Darcy Kernel who had to bow out of his 50K before the start but came to the race and helped with the
timing. Other marshalling, recording and aid station duties were provided by Harriers Matthias Schoek, Kandise
Froese, Eric Davies, Brian Turner and Martha McNeeley.
Thank you all and I will see your next year!
Carlos Castillo, Race Director, Island Runner Elk/Beaver Ultras, hosted by Prairie Inn Harriers

No comments: